Just me

This is me

Three years and 7 months on from my first day one, including the last 15 months drinking again …

My name is Claire (Imogen) and I am … um, erm, … uh, … maybe an alcoholic, maybe not, very much addicted to alcohol (no shame here, news flash, it’s addictive) … errr .. I use it for a variety of emotions, I find it incredibly difficult to live without .. that includes ‘thinking’ about it even if I’m not doing it …

So what am I? Do I name it ? If it helps, yes! However for me it isn’t an illness or a disease, it’s not something I was born with and … run away now if you want to feel this has been cast upon you … it isn’t an affliction …

It’s my story, it’s my character and alcohol is part of my journey. PART of it, not all of it. It absolutely has defined me at times and it absolutely will not define the next 1 to 40 years I have left to live ( if I’m lucky)

It played its part and it did the job. It also very nearly destroyed me. A toxic cocktail of anxiety, depression, paranoia plus booze (for me – wine) ….. boom.

I can make no promises here. I have no answers for you. I’m drinking again but I have a date set to stop. 11th July. Don’t ask why. There are methods to my madness as you’ll come to see ..

I may succeed and I may fail. If this is a trigger for you in your own path to sobriety then please do not read on. This is for my own purpose and not to advise others. I have no advice. I am like a newborn that was here before but can’t bloody recall anything!

Yep, this is me, Imogen, and I’m ready to own my own story.

Love Claire x

8 thoughts on “Just me”

  1. I love hearing from you!!! I’m excited to follow you on your journey! This is such a real, raw post I bet many can relate to! Keep smiling my dear friend! That smile is infectious, especially pictures with your boys! 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment